Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread

2003 Toyota Celica GT-S
2003 Toyota Celica GT-S
Hello everyone, first I'm new in this world of car fixing by myself so saying this I need a lot of advices.

I bought a celica gts 03 manual, when I did the test drive the car ran good but the owner told me that has a misfire problem (some Spark plugs) and he told me that he did recently rebuild the engine.

Ok after that I drove the car to my house but in the halfway the engine stopped. I tow the car to my house.

I did check the spark plug en replace it all of them for a new OEM sparks plug.
I bought a new battery.

After all the information the car still no runs. The car cranks but don't run the engine.

Some friend told me to check the timing belt and I did. The timing belt is defaced.
Another friend told that I should buy a new timing belt and replace it. The car has 150k miles
I saw one on Ebay but you know is Ebay so I'm not sure and there is another page that I don't know if is good and what option should I get.

I left the links below. What do you guys think? Thank you, any advice is very welcome.

As a gift I left the 2000-2005_toyota_celica_repair_manual
https://celicahobby.com/forums/ubbt...gen-toyota-celica-repair-manual-1-2.html

Timing belt kit:
https://www.ebay.com/itm/Timing-Cha...lica-1-8L-2ZZGE-DOHC-16V-L4/252798134998

Or the Part Number: 7988-07134131 option number 6
https://www.partsgeek.com/.../2003/...al/timing_chain.html?rp=timing_chain_kit

Gasket set (I think the second option comes with everything that I need):
https://www.partsgeek.com/.../2003/toyota/celica/engine_mechanical/engine_gasket_set.html

This is another website for the gasket set
https://www.carparts.com/details/To.../2003/GTS/4_Cyl_1-dot-8L/DNJFGS9016.html

This is much cheaper but I don't know if should I buy it from here.
8d8f74dd5c48ddc0a41f78c7d64e7e81.png

Hey, welcome.