Previous Thread
Next Thread
New Reply
Print Thread
Rate Thread

Hi everyone, I own a 100k miles 2003 7th gen Celica VVTL-i with the 2zz in manual, it's my first car that I'm wrenching on personally. I do have some mechanical knowledge as I was a former Navy technician, but I am kind of stumped as how to diagnose my engine issues...I'll describe the symptoms, and some possible leads to what happened before.

Before I proceed, I have to admit I didn't do the appropriate maintenance needed when having bought a new vehicle.... but I have definitely been humbled after the issues I've faced...

Current Symptoms:
- White smoke blowing out of exhaust
- Oil in coolant (see attached pic at bottom)
- No coolant in oil
- No visible leaks (at least to my knowledge)
- No cabin heating
- Temperature gauge shot up to high, and back to mid (air in coolant lines)
- Previous owner used water, not toyota red long life coolant

The journey from working engine to problem:
- Bought the celica, everything seems fine.
- Drove ~400 miles from Leeds to Oxford and back, no issues (generally didn't go above 6k rpm to engage lift)
- changed oil, previous owner was NOT diligent in changing oil, very dirty.
- Went for a spirited drive (went up to 7k RPM), power steering failed.
- Initially thinking it was just a pump failure, I carried on but lost spark & all electricity. Engine temps spiked, and I immediately pulled over.
- Got it towed to a shop, they rang back and realised both the Serpentine Belt & tensioner itself broke on me.
- Got celica back, everything seems fine. Battery went flat from sitting too long so garage gave me a jump.
- Went for another spirited drive (redlined), no issues.
- I did turn off the A/C when at >8k rpm.
- The next drive, I realised the temperature gauge spikes to max and back to mid, indicating air stuck in the coolant system.
- Cabin Heating stopped working at the same time.